GTTC Universities Competition Finals

4 June 2024
Academic Competition

We are delighted to announce that registrations are now open for the finals of this prestigious competition, which promotes research in international tax law among university students. This in-person event will be open to a limited number of participants at the IBFD headquarters.

Registration for this event is now closed. 

logo gttc


In its eighth edition, this year's competition focuses on passive income. This edition also brings forth an exciting atmosphere of collaboration and academic excellence, fostering the spirit of our event's in-person experience.

Kicking off the event is the Distinguished Lecture by our Visiting Global Scholar, Prof. Stephen E. Shay, titled “The Evolving International Tax System: What Is It Made For?”.

This year, we received an impressive number of submissions from twelve universities representing eleven countries worldwide. After a rigorous review process by our esteemed jury, comprising Prof. Jennifer Roeleveld (UCT), Luis Nouel (IBFD), and Dr. Joanna Wheeler (IBFD), we are pleased to announce the selection of the top three teams for the final round of the competition:

  • Xiamen University (China)
  • O.P. Jindal Global University (India)
  • Babeș-Bolyai University (Romania)

This captivating event will see the three finalist teams presenting their research to the jury, showcasing their deep insights and innovative approaches to the dynamics of passive income. The competition will culminate in the eagerly awaited announcement of the winning team, marking a significant milestone in their academic journey.

Don't miss the announcement of the winning team, which promises to be an exciting highlight of the event. Save the date for 4 June, and be part of this intriguing afternoon of academic excellence.

Event Programme

14:00 – 15:15 Visiting Global Scholar Distinguished Lecture “The Evolving International Tax System: What Is It Made For?”, by Prof. Stephen E. Shay

15:15 – 17:00 GTTC Universities Competition – Scope and Framework

Presentations by the three finalist teams of their findings (max. 25 min each followed by max. 10 min questions from the jury), with a 10-minute break after the first two presentations.
The jury will be composed of Prof. Jennifer Roeleveld, Luis Nouel and Dr Joanna Wheeler.

17:00 – 17:20 Coffee Break (Discussion of the jury)

17:20 – 17:25 Announcement of the winning team

17:25 – 17:30 Concluding remarks and closing, by Dr Joanna Wheeler