Taxation of global e-commerce

The approaches taken by Australia, Canada, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, the USA and the OECD to tax e-commerce are extensively surveyed. The authors describe the current governmental responses, and explain what constitutes a taxable presence under domestic and tax treaty tests. The article concludes with a discussion of Australia's controlled foreign corporation regime in the e-commerce context.