Continue shopping Go to cart
return to product list

Retroactivity of Tax Legislation

This book is based on the proceedings of the annual meeting of the European Association of Tax Law Professors (EATLP) held in Leuven from 27-29 May 2010.

Retroactivity of Tax Legislation


EATLP International Tax Law Series


Volume 9 in the EATLP International Tax Series

Hans Gribnau, Melvin Pauwels
Date of publication:


Type of publication:

Print Book

Number of pages:



Shipping fees apply. View shipping information

EUR 80 / USD 105 (VAT excl.)
Order Print
  • Bulk discounts apply to orders of 11 or more books of the same format (this goes for each of the formats). The offer is not valid for resellers.
  • Students are entitled to a 50% discount on IBFD books (valid student card required).
To obtain the bulk or student discount, contact Customer Support.
Retroactivity of Tax Legislation
Why this book?
This book comprises the final reports of the annual meeting of the European Association of Tax Law Professors (EATLP) held in Leuven, Belgium from 27-29 May 2010. The main subject of the conference was retroactivity in taxation.

Main contents

General report

Special topics

  • Legal certainty: a matter of principle
  • Retroactive and retrospective tax legislation: a principle based approach; a theory about ‘priority principles of transition law’ and ‘the method of the catalogue of circumstances’
  • Retroactive interpretative statutes and validation statutes in tax law: an assessment in the light of legal certainty, separation of powers and the right to a fair trial
  • Legislation by press release: the role of announcements in the debate about retroactive tax legislation
  • The law and economics approaches to retroactive tax legislation
  • It’s the outcomes, not the rules – transition issues in the process of tax reform

National reports

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States




Hans Gribnau and Melvin Pauwels


Fabrizio Amatucci, Koos Boer, Charlotte Crane, Emmanuel de Crouy Chanel, Daniel Deak, Katarina Fast, Hans Gribnau, Pedro Herrera, Johanna Hey, Anders Hultqvist, Piotr Karwat, Geoffrey Loomer, Allard Lubbers, Ana B. Macho, Jukka Mähönen, Panagiotis Melissinos, Peter Melz, Aage Michelsen, Jacob Graff Nielsen, Melvin Pauwels, Bruno Peeters, Patricia Popelier, Ethel Puncher, Konstantinos Remelis, Alain Steichen, Glória Teixeira, Eleni Theocharopoulou, Henk Vording, David Williams, Billur Yalti


As we value your opinion, we invite you to share your thoughts about this IBFD book with other clients.
return to product list