Continue shopping Go to cart

The IBFD Frans Vanistendael Award for International Tax Law

Frans Vanistendael

IBFD wishes to promote outstanding scientific research output on international tax law. For this purpose, it decided to introduce the IBFD Frans Vanistendael Award for International Tax Law, named after its well-esteemed former Academic Chairman, Prof. Dr Frans Vanistendael. Professor Vanistendael is renowned for producing academic content at the highest of scientific standards and has long been distinguished as one of the most far-sighted scholars in the field of international tax law.


I. Funding, focus and requirements

The proposed dotation is EUR 10,000, plus a flat amount for travel and accommodation expenses incurred in attending the award ceremony.

II. Application and selection process

Eligible publications are all articles, books, book chapters and monographs on international tax law (including European Union tax law), in paper or digital format (with an ISBN or ISSN number), published in English between 1 January 2019 and 31 December 2019, which have provided an outstanding contribution to the development of international tax law. In case of doubt, the temporal criterion to ascertain eligibility is the date of the ISBN/ISSN.

Applications may be submitted by anyone (therefore not just by the author) by 31 December 2019 via email to

The recipient of the 2020 Frans Vanistendael Award for International Tax Law will be selected by an international jury composed of Pasquale Pistone (Chairman), Jennifer Roeleveld, Cliff Fleming, Cécile Brokelind, Adolfo Martin, Rick Krever, Patricia Brown, Manfred Mössner and Dikshit Sengupta . 

The jury decides on the winner of the award by a two-thirds majority. In case that majority cannot be reached after two rounds of votes, the decision is taken by a simple majority.

III. Award information

The conferral of the 5th IBFD Frans Vanistendael Award took place in Amsterdam on 6 September 2019 during the conference: Putting Learning into Practice – Addressing the Challenges of International Tax Law.

Results 2019 Frans Vanistendael award

The 2019 edition was carried out with the support of the following jury members:

Reuven Avi-Yonah, Ana Paula Dourado, Marjaana Helminen, Ruth Mason, Yoshihiro Masui, Jörg Manfred Mössner, Pasquale Pistone (Chairman), Jennifer Roeleveld and Miranda Stewart.

The following publications were shortlisted:

  • Vikram Chand, The Interaction of Domestic Anti-Avoidance Rules with Tax Treaties (Schulthess Verlag 2018)
  • Wei Cui, Residence-Based Formulary Apportionment: (In-)Feasibility and Implications, 71 Tax Law Review 3 (2018)
  • Sunita Jogarajan, Double Taxation and the League of Nations (Cambridge University Press 2018)
  • Jérôme Monsenego, Selectivity in State Aid Law and the Methods for the Allocation of the Corporate Tax Base (Kluwer Law International 2018)
  • Aitor Navarro, Transactional Adjustments in Transfer Pricing (IBFD 2018)
  • Viktoria Wöhrer, Data Protection and Taxpayers’ Rights: Challenges Created by Automatic Exchange of Information (IBFD 2018)

IBFD is pleased to announce that Aitor Navarro (Spain) is the winner of the 5th IBFD Frans Vanistendael Award for his book titled "Transactional Adjustments in Transfer Pricing", published by IBFD in 2018.

Previous winners

View the 2018 winner and shortlist
View the 2017 winner and shortlist
View the 2016 winner and shortlist
View the 2015 winners and shortlist